top of page

Elizabeth Alexandra Mary (Elizabeth II) (aka Queen Elizabeth II) (1926-1922)

Mother of King Charles III. Passing on 8 September 2022. 

Duke of Lancaster

The Duchy of Lancaster is the private estate of the British sovereign, and it was established in the 14th Century. As the current holder of the Duchy, the Queen has been the Duke of Lancaster since she ascended the throne in 1952. In Lancaster, toasts to the monarch are often addressed to "The Queen, Duke of Lancaster!"

Lord of Mann

The Isle of Man is a self-governing British Crown Dependency, but the Queen is considered the island nation's head of state. As such, the Queen holds the title of Lord of Mann and she is represented by a Lieutenant Governor.

Duke of Normandy

The Queen is known as the Duke of Normandy in the Channel Islands, which are comprised of two Crown Dependencies, the Bailiwick of Jersey and the Bailiwick of Guernsey. Like her Duke of Lancaster title, the Queen goes by the Duke title rather than Duchess of Normandy. The reason for the Queen's unique title in the Channel Islands is that the islands are the last remaining part of the former Duchy of Normandy under the rule of Britain's monarch.

bottom of page